Hobbitville

Posted: March 8, 2010 in Creepy Places
Tags: , , , , ,

Get chased around Sugarhouse by little people all night long, and for free!

Allen Park, better known as Hobbitville, is private lane across the street from Westminster College. If is known for it’s small houses, creepy statues, and violent “hobbits”.

One particular night, a few friends of mine decided to check this place out for ourselves. This was a night I will never forget. We were driving past the entrance to Hobbitville waiting for an old, beat-up car with their lights off to leave. On the third time we drove by, it pulled out and followed a few cars behind us. We noticed and with crying girls in the back seat, I (the driver) pulled down a side street to attempt to loose them. This didn’t work however. They began a 30 minute long chase through the Sugarhouse area. We would catch glimpses of them and discovered that they were old  guys with long, grey beards. Creepy. At times we would think we lost them, then we would drive to a 4-way stop in a neighborhood and they would be sitting in the middle of the intersection with their lights off. We pretty much crapped our pants. We finally got back on the main road and thought we lost them. All the passengers convinced me that we needed to abandon Hobbitville for tonight and just go home. I pulled a U-turn at an intersection. But right after I had turned around the beat-up car with no headlights drove past us, smiled, and waved. This is when I first started freaking out. After that, no car or stoplight kept me from speeding home as fast as we could. With the rain beating down hard at 1:00 in the morning, the girls couldn’t stop crying until we reached the safety of home.

Hobbitville is located on Allen Park Drive, just across the street of Westminster College in Salt Lake City, Utah. It is a small road surrounded by trees with a gate, which is usually open, a few feet in room the road. It is a private drive and there is security. If you are caught, you will be asked to leave, but very forcefully. Once you enter the village, if does back pretty far. Inside this forested drive, there are homes, old abandoned buildings, and creepy stone monuments with weird sayings all around. View a map of Hobbitville.

Comments
  1. -spoon says:

    i too visited Hobbitville, and barley lived to tell the tale…
    haha! no but actually about 12 years ago when i first got a licence it was in to go rally though “hobbitland” and look at all the strangely built houses and statues, some of them have writing that say things like “the eyes are watching” and ominously charming Tim Burton feeling (such as much of Sugarhouse has)- A trip to hland consisted of a slow short drive to down the road that lead in ending in a loop- which set off a motion light which always made you drive faster as you left. one time a voice shouted “what are you lookin at!” and an egg bounced off my ear to break inside the car and break all over everyone, come to find out later that its just a neighborhood full of non-hobbits disgruntled as Pariseines on their touristic lots! right to be so, but what do you expect when you live in an old witches colony!

  2. Hahaha.. Hobbitville (or Hobbitland) is a great adventure to tell stories about. Each person I com across I end up telling my story to! Thanks for the comment!

  3. Brandi says:

    is this place open to publice to go look at

    • Colton says:

      Well it’s accessible to the public, but there are stories about the residents chasing people out of the neighborhood at night when they try to drive through it. It’s open, but it’s a private lane.

  4. elise says:

    When i was in church my teacher told us about this stuff and people in my class thought it was alll fake but it’s not!!!!!! I want to go there soooooooo bad!!!!!!!

  5. Melissa says:

    My husband told me about this place and I didnt believe him. He is from Salt Lake City, Utah. When I went there with him he took us through it. The little people turned their lights off in their homes and hid, you could see shadows running around and crouching down in their homes, the place is filled with creepy little houses and statues. There were tons of signs with parts of nursery ryhmes on them. We then seen some of the residents of hobbit ville about to load up in their cars with their guns so we headed out. There have been known shootings there and they will chase you out. It definitely is an adventure but a scary one.

  6. Gerardo says:

    Ive Been there more then 5 times and each time i go nothing happens to me

    • jaislyn says:

      I got chased!!!!!!! With a pipe wreach he was swearing at us and im 11 years old my friend fell and almost got to her but she hid behind a dumpster. The guy is do insane. Then my mom tried to drive in and he started to walk up to the car and my mom hurried and drove away. We stayed there until midnight trying to get in. It was wired because we weren’t on his property when he chased us. He crossed the street and started chasing us. My mom tried to ask him a question he didn’t move

      • kyimike says:

        Tell your friend to not hide behind a dumpster and when he is chasing you RUN AS FAST AS YOUR LITTLE LEGS CAN GO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! p.s. don’t FALL HE WILL GET YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      • joey says:

        TELL YOUR FRIEND NEVER TO HIDE BEHIND A DUMPSTER HE CAN GET YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!P.S. TRY HIDING IN THE DUMPSTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Bill Peltz says:

    I enjoyed living there in 1954 and 1955, when I came to SLC to do graduate work in anthropology at the University of Utah. It was a good place to live, once we got used to the squawking of the peacocks that wandered freely around the place. The spreading of their tails was something I’d never seen before. Impressive.

    My favorite inscription was “Give Me Men to Match the Mountains”. The mosaic letters were not always well formed, so I liked to think of it as “Give Me Hen to Hatch the Mountains”, which seemed to fit the theme of the place. My wife and I moved out after a year to live very close to the University campus, but I liked the atmosphere at Allen Park and enjoyed the friendship of the couple who lived in the other half of our little cottage. Never saw any scary people.

    • Saxtyn says:

      Hi, all I can find about Allen Park are silly stories about it.I know this comment is 4 years old but I’m hoping you can still get it. I want to live in Allen Park. Can you tell me about the living arrangements within it?

  8. Johnny Ringo says:

    I’ve been a couple of times a few years ago and a huge man supposedly the hobbits body gaurd comes out and chases you with a bamboo stick or hits your car with the bamboo stick. Just a p.s. though he isn’t scared of hurting you it’s trespassing so I wouldn’t suggest going anymore.

    • Brian Myers says:

      technically by law, even if you are trespassing they cant harm you. unless they feel like their life is in danger or threatened by you… so unless you threaten them ( breaking into their homes or what not) they cant really do anything… or they would get in trouble. there is a strict policy on the subject of what you can and cant do with trespassers. in short. as long as you are just walking around you are safe… if they hurt you go to the police. last time i was there i heard shouting and had things thrown at us but all they did was threaten to call the police and had scary laughs coming from the dark bushes around us… that its self was creepy. to think they were in the forrest with us.

  9. Morgan says:

    I just really want a midget.

  10. latisha flores says:

    every time i go with my sister and cousin the tall man would come out and tell us to leave. But we would pretend to leave and a hour later we will return we got chased out by a car and we still go beacuse we want to go through the whole thing.

  11. braxton barrett says:

    i killed a midget once.

  12. Katie says:

    So me and my friends decided to go one night and see what this place was all about. We had heard stories about the hobbits “protector” and lets just say..they are all true!! This guy, is good. Hes stupid, but good. The first time we went behind the apartments to the right of the right driveway and were very well hidden, but he somehow still managed to shine his flashlight on us and chase us out. Then, like 15 minutes later, we went behind one of the abandoned houses on Downington Ave and he found us once again, and yelled “You’re trespassing, have a nice day!” and then he booked it and came out of the village, around the corner, and up Downington to try and catch us, on top of that, he had a baseball bat! Obviously we ran as fast as we could back to our car, with him chasing us the whole time. When we drove back down the street he was still there with his flashlight and baseball bat trying to see if any of us were still there. This guy is legit. Though, hes not the brightest. There were a few times we were standing in plain sight and he didnt see us, and then the fact that he thought we would still be behind the abandoned house just proves hes not too smart. We definitely will be going back, I want to see some little houses!

  13. Colton says:

    Me and a couple friends just snuck into hobbitville and went around the entire thing they have normal sized houses we didnt see any gaurds and didnt even see a midget until we literally got bored and walked down the middle of the road on the way out and somebody yelled at us to leave. its probably different in broad daylight but as long as you dont walk down the front enterance just go through somebodys yard on the side you will be good

  14. Marsh says:

    I live near the place and my gf and I were just driving past one night and saw a truck speed out and the guard running after with a big ass revolver screaming profanities. Kinda scary

  15. Samantha says:

    Went there last night with my bf and sister. We drove in first to see what it looked like then we decided to park and walk in there. The houses looked creepy and theres a bunch of sayings here and there. There was no guard when I went which was around 8 pm. There was a guy shining a flash light through the trees so thats when we decided to leave. We went all the way to the end. The road doesnt come out anywhere. You end up having to go out the way you came in. Cant say I saw any hobbits just cars parked all through there.

  16. Allie says:

    These stories strike me funny. They are just little cottage duplexes you can rent. A friend of mine lived there for years. Its a few U of U grad students and young professionals that rent there. There are no children allowed to keep it quiet and secluded. The couple that owns it lives in the big front house. They probally chase people out for giggles or because they are annoyed with lookyloos. Nothing sinister there though, no little people either.

  17. Trevor says:

    Me and a few friends went there tonight.. We parked 1 street down and I was tieing my shoe when the hobbit protector “gandalf the great” came out and started yelling at us! He threw a stick at our car. I saw one hobbit in the house in the back.. We were walking down the driveway and he came after us with a bigger stick!make sure you go at night he will chase you and make it fun!

  18. Wanksta4Life says:

    About 6 years ago when I was a mischievous high school student, my friends and I went to drive through there because we were told that it was full of little people living in little houses that would throw rocks at you if they caught you in there which immediately peeked our curiosity. As we pulled in we noticed a dark figure staring at us through the window of the big house in the front, and we looked at each other for all of 10 minutes before we decided to leave because we thought we were going to be its next murder victims. Last night, I was out with an old high school pal of mine and we decided to go check the place out again. As soon as we turned into the driveway/street, a man with a long grey beard came flying out of the bushes with a metal rod and scared the shit out of us. He shouted at us asking if we needed help with some directions, and my friend said we were looking for the freeway. He told us were it was and then watched as we backed up and left. Now that I’ve read the stories, I think I’m going to have to go back. After being in the military for 4 years, however, I will be going prepared dressed in BDUs and covered in camo paint. We’ll see if “Dumbledore” and his wand can find and catch me this time.

  19. drum and pick chick says:

    A couple years ago some friends and I got done eating and we were driving around aimlessly trying to think of something to do. There were three cars and I was driving the lead car and decided to stop so I pulled up onto a hill where there was sort of a place to park. We all got out of our cars and starting talking about plans. A shuttle van went past and then came back. I saw it had the name of the ski resort I worked at the season before. As it was slowing down I started I was thinking, “Oh hey! Maybe its someone I know.” An older guy rolled down the window and I didn’t recognize him. It sort of took me by surprise like, how does he know I work there. But he started yelling at us and telling us to leave and have some respect. He just went on and on and we’re all standing there clueless as to what in the world he was talking about. He was saying “leave us alone!” and “I’m going to call the cops” and calling us a bunch of punks. He got so mad he jumped out of the van….I mean JUMPED. He disappeared behind the door! All of a sudden we had a little person waddling towards us in anger. It was scary and hilarious as we all jumped in our cars like he was a little gremlin going to bite our ankles! We talked some sense into him finally and told him we’re really sorry, but we don’t know what he’s talking about. We had never heard of Allen Park or “Hobbitville”. Apparently where we parked was on a hill above the houses where they live and people like to stop there and spy on them. He said something like people go in there and pound on the windows and doors and scare them and to just go home. That was possibly the strangest thing I’ve experienced. Then he continued to follow us around Sugarhouse. I stopped and ran to his van and told HIM to stop following us and to just ‘go home.’

  20. “Hobbitville Utah Adventures” was actually compelling and beneficial!
    Within todays society that’s very hard to manage. Thanks a lot, Rosario

  21. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right.
    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had spent for
    this information! Thanks!

  22. Bob says:

    In hobbit land it’s private property if you trespass they are justified to do whatever they want to you.

  23. Amanda says:

    Story’s about this ace are false!! I used to live down the street from this place. Also check this out http://m.ksl.com/index/story/sid/24334060?mobile_direct=y

  24. McKay says:

    My friend’s mom told us about this place about a year ago, but I never knew where it was. I found this blog (which I love, by the way) and immediately texted my friend, making plans to go. We went two days ago and drove through it once around 3:00pm and nothing happened. Sure, the houses were small and there were weird statues and quotes everywhere, but that was all there was to see. We went and did some other exploring and came back at about 7:30pm, the sun was just going down, but still light enough. We drove to the end and I got out of my car to take a photo of one of the quotes on the largest statue at the end of the road. (“Keep your eyes on the stars and your feet on the ground.”) A light had come on when we were down there, but at this point I figured we were fine so I didn’t care. As we were driving out, I looked at a house and noticed an older lady staring at us through a window. She didn’t look happy and it freaked me out. Now that I was intrigued, I convinced my friend to let me drive through it again. She didn’t really want to, but I had to. We drove through and nothing happened again. So, we just left.

    It did have a very creepy feeling, though. And it was weird. Very weird. So I texted my two other friends and asked them if they wanted to go in a different car. We went yesterday and as we were driving in, a car pulled out (literally out of nowhere) and was following us right on our tails. It finally pulled off and parked and we proceeded and turned around at the end of the drive. As we were driving out, we saw this car again and the lady driving it immediately got out of it and walked towards us. So, my friend stopped her car and rolled down her window. The lady asked us if we “saw the no trespassing signs” and asked us to “show some respect” to them. So, we left and avidly searched our smart phones for answers about this place.

    Apparently it was original a Bird Refuge/Park built by a Dr. Allen in the 1900’s. It was open to the public. He needed more money to be able to pay for the property, so he had small houses built on the property so people could rent them out. The article then went on to say midgets don’t live there and never have, people just assume that because the houses are so small. The story makes sense to me, considering the artwork and statues throughout the drive, and the birds everywhere.

    However, it’s still weird to me. Why does it bother them so much that people are driving on their property? Why are they so paranoid? What are all the weird quotes about? Maybe if they were more open with the public we wouldn’t all be so curious…

    I got on this blog again now to read the comments to see why this is such a big deal and hear other people’s experience. And now I’m going to have to back late tonight to see if I experience being chased by anyone. (I want a thrill.) So, we’ll see. But as far as I can tell, it’s just a bunch of regular people living in little houses who want to live peaceful lives. But it’s weird. I want to get to the bottom of this. Hahahahaha.

Leave a Reply

